PORTION CONTROL

Well, I am gearing up to start rehearsals for the brand new production of Big Fish and I couldn’t be more excited! We start mid August, so lately I have been enjoying some much-needed time off.

Anyway. I am big into portion control.

Anyone who has seen me in the kitchen knows that I am constantly using measuring spoons and cups. I measure everything that goes into my body (literally put it in the cup/spoon and level it off with a knife).

For those of us aiming to manage or lose weight, it is crucial to be aware of EVERYTHING that you eat. We often times eat mindlessly. We think that the spoonful of the Ben and Jerry’s that is CALLING FOR US from the freezer doesn’t count because, well, no one saw it.

Ever done that??….yea me too.

Unfortunately it DOES count. Every little bite, lick and taste of food is a source of energy. That energy presents itself to the body as a fat, carb, or protein. Regardless of the portion size, your body is going to do SOMETHING with that unit of energy. If we’re lucky it uses it immediately and keeps us going through out our day. If we’re not so lucky, it goes straight to our thighs as fat…BOOOO

In my opinion, and many people don’t agree, vegetables and fruits (within reason and with the exception of starchy/fatty vegetables like beans,lentils, corn and avocados) can be eaten as much as you want (the body can process these plants  much easier than any other sort of food)

think… has anyone every gotten fat from eating too much spinach or too many carrots??

EVERYTHING else should we measured and portioned (portions are usually on the back of labels)

Lunch yesterday was: a huge salad full of:

“Syn” Salad

(Named by one of my best friends!)

  • Veggies (spinach, kale, romaine, artichoke hearts, beets, tomato, cucumber, carrots, radish–if you make a salad get creative!!)–I bolded these because they are my favorites
  • 1/4 cup quinoa (Super high in protein and a great complex carb)
  • 1/4 cup black beans (Wonderful source of vegetarian protein)
  • 1/4 avocado (portion of HEALTHY fat which is necessary for weight control and weight LOSS)
  • 1 TBS pistachios (another healthy fat PORTIONED)
  • capers
  • balsamic vinegar

*I also love to add 3 cooked egg whites, 2 tbs goat cheese (if you do dairy) etc.

it was incredibly filling because of the fiber from veggies. It was packed with protein because of the quinoa, pistachios, and beans. It had healthy sustainable fats in the avocado and nuts which will keep you full and satisfied  long after you’ve finished eating. The important thing: IT WAS DELICIOUS!

image-10

Dinner was an egg white omelette stuffed with veggies and vegan cheese. (I use this brand because I have an allergy to soy and it’s soy free)

Perfectly Portioned Omelette

  • 4 egg whites (I use free range organic, but any eggs will do)
  • broccoli, spinach, onion, pepper, and some capers for a salty punch)
  • 1/3 cup Rice cheese   (you can also do 1 low fat string cheese, or 1/4 cup low fat shredded cheese… look on the back for the portion size!)
  • I cook my omlettes with cooking spray to avoid adding extra fat
  • Salsa and hot sauce

*When making an omelette, add as many veggies as you want. This will make the omelette more filling, plus you feel like you’re eating a big meal which is awesome. (I LOVE TO EAT)

image-11

Topped with some salsa and hot sauce with SUZIES rice cakes (Which are my favorite) on the side

*they sell these awesome rice cakes at health food stores like whole foods..my fav. are the quinoa sesame

image-12

Eating should NOT be stressful. It should be enjoyable and fun! I know that measuring is a drag, but when you know EXACTLY what you are putting into your body, the pay off is TOTALLY WORTH IT!

xoxo SYN

ps. I wanted to put it out there that if you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment and I will get back to you as soon as I can… I’m always here for help and support 🙂

4 thoughts on “PORTION CONTROL

  1. Pingback: Here I am! |

  2. After looking over a handful of the blog posts on your web page, I seriously like your technique of writing a blog.

    I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in the near future.
    Take a look at my web site too and tell me what you think.

  3. Pingback: “What do I bring for Lunch?” |

Leave a comment