Munchies

Ever get home from a long day at work and all you want to do is EAT? That has been happening to me lately. I get home from a long day at rehearsal and I want to eat everything in sight. I mostly crave salty things, but before I reach for the chips, I reach for Kale.

Sound weird? Maybe, but Kale can be made into amazing  things! Kale is wonderful sautéed, steamed and most importantly when made into the Kale Chip. These little morsels satisfiy every salty, crunchy and munchie request your body makes!

I literally used an entire Bunch of kale. Over the course of the night I ate the entire thing, and I’m not ashamed!!! It is so important to eat greens, and if making them into chips helps you to get a huge dose of this wonderful leafy veggie, then so be it!

image-85

Crunchy Kale Chips Your Way

  • 1 bunch of Kale (Dinosaur or Lacinato)
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • Spices

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees (depending on oven) First wash the kale. Next, DRY it COMPLETELY (I used a salad spinner). Tear chip sized pieces of kale off of the stalk. Place the pieces into a large bowl. Take one tsp of olive oil and massage it into kale (make sure that each piece has oil on it.) Next add your spices…

The Great thing about making your own chips, is you can make your own flavors!!!

Some awesome ones are :

  • Old Bay
  • Parmesan
  • Garlic and herb ( Garlic powder with dried thyme, basil and parsley)
  • Salt and Vinegar (Add a tsp of red wine vinegar)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Curry Powder

(Just some suggestions!)

I used both Old Bay and “Parmesan” (Nutritional Yeast).

Pour your spices into the bowl and make sure that they are evenly distributed throughout. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray, and place the Kale on the sheet. If they overlap it’s ok, but you want them to cook evenly.

photo-28

Cook for about 10 minutes. Keep a close eye on them, they burn easily!!!

image-86

 

They come out crunchy and well seasoned. They really are the perfect snack, and with only 1 teaspoon of oil, you can’t go wrong!

Oh… and eat them all… you deserve it!!!!!

xoxo SYN

17 thoughts on “Munchies

  1. Pingback: More Kale Chips! |

  2. Pingback: Late Night Snacks |

  3. Pingback: Changes, opportunities, and GREENS |

  4. Howdy! I understand this is somewhat off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does running a well-established website like yours take a massive amount work?

    I am completely new to operating a blog however I do
    write in my diary on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for new aspiring bloggers.
    Appreciate it!

  5. Pingback: An old Favorite |

Leave a comment