Birthdays and a la Vodka sauce!

Well, I want to start this post by saying happy birthday to the most incredible guy in the world… my boyfriend, and best friend, KEITH!!!!!

540374_629698232802_1339656122_n

Things have been crazy on my end. The show has been fantastic! We have gotten such wonderful feedback, and wonderful reviews!!!

1378547_10153306489665431_1723462615_n

 

SO COME CHECK US OUT IF YOU CAN!!!!!

 

OK..now that my shameless plug is over 🙂

The weather here in New York has officially shifted. It has been quite chilly, and naturally, I have been craving warm foods. As I’ve said before, my time is generally quite limited as far as cooking is concerned, so I usually try to have some ingredients pre-prepared so that I can just throw something together. On my last day off, I tried to whip up some Roasted Red Pepper and Butternut Squash Cream Sauce to add to some of my dinners for the week. As I was half way into my cooking process I realized I was out of coconut milk!!!! I had to think FAST (I make food seem so dramatic).

I had a box of low sodium butternut squash soup, and decided to sub that for the milk. I also added about 1/4 cup of tomato sauce. After I added the finished product to some veggies, it reminded me so much of Penne a la Vodka (sans penne)!!!

photo-49

 

A la Vodka sauce 

  • 1/2 roasted butternut squash
  • 1 roasted red pepper (from a can packed in water)
  • 1 cup butternut squash soup (or milk of choice)
  • 2 cloves chopped garlic
  • 2 tbs parm cheese (or nutritional yeast)
  • 1/4 cup low fat tomato sauce
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • salt and pepper to taste

First, roast or steam your squash. Then Place all ingredients in a blender, and blend until smooth. (If your Butternut Squash is still hot from the oven, be careful that the blender doesn’t overheat!)

Veggies

  • Zucchini
  • Broccoli
  • Asparagus
  • Spinach
  • Mushroom
  • LOTS of chopped fresh basil
  • 1 TBS low fat cheese
  • 1 TBS Parm cheese
  • (Optional: some sort of protein)

Cook veggies (excluding the basil) in a sprayed pan with about 3 TBS of water. When the veggies are cooked, add about 3/4 cup of sauce, and the remaining ingredients. Cook until hot, transfer to a plate and ENJOY!!!

image-135 image-134

 

Talk about comfort food 🙂 I honestly ate this exact thing three days in a row. SO DELISH.. and my favorite.. GUILT FREE!!!

Happy Sunday all!!!

 

xoxoSYN

Leave a Reply

