When Chocolate takes over

Every have one of these days?:

Wake up: eat breakfast

crave chocolate

Go to work: Eat lunch

Crave Chocolate

Work out

CRAVE CHOCOLATE

Get home: Eat dinner

CRAVE CHOCOLATE

That was my day! For some reason, my brain was absorbed with thoughts of a rich dark-chocolate goodness.

I tend to not keep baked goods in the house. Mainly because I have no off switch, and once I have 1 cookie, I want 10. Today, I tried to satisfy my chocolate craving by eating fruit, nut butter, even putting cocoa powder into my yogurt. NOTHING worked. I realized that the only way to satisfy my craving was to give in….eek.

Now, clearly it’s easy to go over board when baking. Usually, a spoon is licked, chocolate chips are tossed into your mouth, and then of course you have to sample the end product. By the time you are done baking, you probably have eaten 3 servings! Whenever I bake, I try not to consume to many extra bites, licks, and tastes, but sometimes it is inevitable!!! I mean, common, we’re all human!!!! The only way for me to make these choices better is to alter traditional recipes to be what I like to call “Guilt Free!”

I decided to head over to my favorite dessert blog: Chocolate Covered Katie, and was instantly intrigued by this recipe. After making some serious substitutions (I wanted it to be fat,sugar and gluten-free!) I came up with these.

image-127 photo-45

 

 Free Brownies

(Gluten, Sugar and Fat FREE)

1-WW Points Plus per LARGE brownie!

Makes 6 large brownies

  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup bobs gluten-free flour (any flour will work)
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 TBS egg whites
  • 1 1/2  TBS stevia
  • 3 TBS unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie!)
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1/4 cup milk of choice (I used coconut milk)
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1-2 TBS dark chocolate chips

Combine all ingredients. MIX WELL. Transfer to a baking dish and cook at 350 degrees for about 20-25 minutes.  ENJOY!!!

These came out really thick (just the way that I like my brownies.) I will warn you, they aren’t rich and chocolaty like traditional brownies, but I felt like they did the trick.

I hope you’re enjoying the beautiful fall weather!!!!

xoxoSYN

3 thoughts on “When Chocolate takes over

  1. Pingback: What I ate Wednesday |

  2. I am not sure where you’re getting your information,
    but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more
    or understanding more. Thanks for excellent info I was looking for this
    information for my mission.

Leave a Reply

